Newspaper Sections

Special Series


About SSFP

Simpson Street Free Press

Algae Is Vital to Marine Ecosystems

Algae is a type of seaweed in lakes and other bodies of water. There are different types of algae like green, brown, gold and red. Most serve the same type of purpose for different locations.

Green algae is the most commonly known algae as there are around 8,000 species. It is a key link of the food chain for aquatic organisms and marine life. It’s located in lakes, ponds, and streams. Green algae also serves a purpose for providing aquatic organisms with oxygen. This comes from a cycle of photosynthesis, where a plant is exposed in sunlight to produce energy.

Brown algae is more rare to find since there are only 1,500 species around the world. Brown algae is mainly used as fertilizer. It is also contained in many Asian snacks, specifically it is most popularly used in the seaweed found in sushi.

Red algae is found in tropical areas. There are almost 6,000 species, a majority of which are harvested for food. Gold algae is found in cold water or freshwater habitats and is important in the food chain for aquatic organisms.

Overall, there are about four types of algae and they are used similarly in different ecosystems.

[Source: Britannica Oceans]

Loading Comments...